Please give me a step by step guide to...

Aaron7772

BattleForums Junior Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Messages
139
Reaction score
0
Location
At My Location
make quests please! I saw the triggers for the quests in the trigger editor...BUT THERE WAS LIKE 8 OF THEM!!! :bugeyes Please tell me where to start and stuff :'( :'( im no noob to triggers, but this seems really complicated.

Thx!!
 

tassadar920

Member!
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,048
Reaction score
0
Location
My house
Quests... oh the joy.... I rarely use quests in maps, but then again I never make single player maps where quests would be involved anyways.

Step 1: Initialize your quest(s)

Code:
Make your Quests
    Events
        Map initialization
    Conditions
    Actions
        Quest - Create a Required, undiscovered quest titled First Quest with the description The Description, using icon path ReplaceableTextures\CommandButtons\BTNAmbush.blp
        Quest - Create a quest requirement for (Last created quest) with the description Requirement for the...
        Quest - Create a defeat condition with the description Defeat condition de...
        Set quests[0] = (Last created quest)
        -------- REPEAT FOR OTHER QUESTS --------
Now you should have ~3 triggers per quest that relate to that quest. These include:

Discovery (triggered by the discovery event, uses "Quest - Mark Quest as Discovered") (you may also want to flash the quest discovery icon at that point)
Completion (triggered by completion event, uses "Quest - Mark Quest as Completed")
Failure (only if the quest can be failed, usese "Quest - Mark Quest as Failed")

Also, if it is a required quest, the Failure trigger should include a line that defeats the player at that time.
 

tassadar920

Member!
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,048
Reaction score
0
Location
My house
Oh, be careful then if you have to make the quest available to multiple people... Also I forgot to mention, I used an array of quests so that you can access them later on after they've been initialized... but I'm guessing you picked up opn that anyways.
 

ChrisH36

Guy with Most Posts on Quiet Board.
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
15,042
Reaction score
4
Location
Temple Prime, Sarajevo
Although obvious, declare all your variables in one trigger. That way, you dont get errors.
 

tassadar920

Member!
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
2,048
Reaction score
0
Location
My house
Hellwolf_36 said:
Although obvious, declare all your variables in one trigger. That way, you dont get errors.
What are you talking about? Variables can be set anywhere you want...
 

ChrisH36

Guy with Most Posts on Quiet Board.
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
15,042
Reaction score
4
Location
Temple Prime, Sarajevo
It just makes life easier if all your declarations are in one spot. So you don't have to scramble through triggers looking for variable type problems. Because, if you have like 100+ triggers and its a small problem. Then you don't want to scramble through your triggers finding your variable values.

I know they can be declared anywhere. Just saying it makes life easier on heavy triggered maps to do that.
 

IceDevil9

BattleForums Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,418
Reaction score
3
Location
CA
Website
www.rcthaven.com
I'll write you up a guide when I get home from school, in about 2 and a half hours.

-Frank :cool:
 

NewPosts

New threads

Top