Ok some though shit here.

Icey_Gregorio

Member!
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
My home
Website
Visit site
I have had troubles with this for over a year it's why I quit mking the map for a while lol. How the **** do you make this trigger.

A. Unit grabs occupies flag
B. Units enters region X with flag
C. Add 1 point to leaderboard blahblah
D. Leaderboard = gametotal blah blah wins

I mainyl have trouble with the if he enters region with flag add 1 point. PLEASE HELP ME.
 

darkened-angel

Member!
Joined
Sep 10, 2003
Messages
52
Reaction score
0
Website
Visit site
Icey_Gregorio said:
I have had troubles with this for over a year it's why I quit mking the map for a while lol. How the **** do you make this trigger.

A. Unit grabs occupies flag
B. Units enters region X with flag
C. Add 1 point to leaderboard blahblah
D. Leaderboard = gametotal blah blah wins

I mainyl have trouble with the if he enters region with flag add 1 point. PLEASE HELP ME.
If the flag is a an item then its easy.
I am at school right now when i get home i will write the trig out for it but i have do thing it took a while at first but now i can do it no problem ok so i will post it in 5 hours or so.
 

SlayMaximus

Member!
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia
Website
www.riplo.com
I would use a variable (of type unit) that is set to the unit when it grabs the flag and then check that condtion when it enters region X - (triggering unit) = [variable]. You may also need to clar the variable, etc. if the unit gets killed before getting to region X.

If that doesn't work or you don't get more help, let me know and I'll try and make a test map for you.

BTW, you spelled "tough" wrong :wasted
 

Icey_Gregorio

Member!
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
My home
Website
Visit site
darkened-angel said:
If the flag is a an item then its easy.
I am at school right now when i get home i will write the trig out for it but i have do thing it took a while at first but now i can do it no problem ok so i will post it in 5 hours or so.
Dam it where is it lol I need that :scary I need to know if I should work on the map or not. If I can't get this there's no point on contining I can't finish.
 

SlayMaximus

Member!
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia
Website
www.riplo.com
The revised map is attached. I changed the following:

Added Super Warden custom unit for testing and modified blink to get around.

Changed trigger Stuff|Things to an event of elapsed game time (rather than map initialization) to create leaderboard properly. You can't create leaderboards under map initialization!

Created variables team1scr and team2scr to hold the team’s scores. They are integer variables.

Added player 1 (red) to leaderboard with label Team 1
Added player 7 (green) to leaderboard with label Team 2
These are just simple labels for the teams and you can change it as necessary.

Added variable Team1_hasflag (a unit variable) that is set to the unit that picks up the flag and used to check that the unit that enters the return point is the unit that has the flag. It gets cleared when the flag is returned, but probably needs to also be cleared if the unit gets killed. You need to make that trigger (event, a unit dies; condition, dieing unit=Team1_hasflag; action, set Team1_hasflag=no unit). may also need to clear it if they drop the flag.

Added under the trigger Getting the flag|Gettign the point (your spelling, not mine) an increment to team1scr and changed display in leaderboard to reflect the same. See trigger below.

Changed the message from “Team 1 had scored a point†to --Team 1 has scored a point-- to conform to English idiom. Just to be an ass, but BTW, you need to learn to spell - lol!

Changed triggers as follows:

The flag thing
Events
Unit - A unit enters Team 2 flag <gen>
Conditions
(Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 7 (Green)
(Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 8 (Pink)
(Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 9 (Gray)
(Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 10 (Light Blue)
(Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 11 (Dark Green)
(Owner of (Triggering unit)) Not equal to Player 12 (Brown)
Actions
Item - Change ownership of Team Two's Flag 0101 <gen> to (Owner of (Triggering unit)) and Retain color
Set Team1_hasflag = (Triggering unit)


Gettign the point
Events
Unit - A unit enters Team1 flag return for point <gen>
Conditions
(Triggering unit) Equal to Team1_hasflag
Actions
Set Team1scr = (Team1scr + 1)
Set Team1_hasflag = No unit
Leaderboard - Change the value for Player 1 (Red) in (Last created leaderboard) to Team1scr
Quest - Display to (All players) the Quest Update message: Team 1 has scored a...
Item - Move Team Two's Flag 0101 <gen> to (Center of Team 2 flag <gen>)

You need to create something similar for team2. Also, Team1 can grab their own flag and Team2 can grab theirs. not sure if you intend that or not, but if not, you need to work with the items to avoid it - I'm not sure how.

Hope this helps and let me know if there is anything else.

Eric
 

Icey_Gregorio

Member!
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
My home
Website
Visit site
Dude i love you :p

Why did u add a warden and blink stopping thingy's?
 

SlayMaximus

Member!
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia
Website
www.riplo.com
For testing. I didn't want to have to run back and forth across the map for 10 minutes everytime I wanted to test the triggers so I made the warden with a strong attack and a long range blink to jump around the map. You should delete her when you finish the map, and restore the blink ability if you use it for anyone else to the normal parameters.

I dont know what you mean by "blink stopping thingy's," but I didn't add any of those intentionally.
 

Icey_Gregorio

Member!
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
My home
Website
Visit site
SlayMaximus said:
For testing. I didn't want to have to run back and forth across the map for 10 minutes everytime I wanted to test the triggers so I made the warden with a strong attack and a long range blink to jump around the map. You should delete her when you finish the map, and restore the blink ability if you use it for anyone else to the normal parameters.

I dont know what you mean by "blink stopping thingy's," but I didn't add any of those intentionally.
O I thoguht you said u did my bad.
 

ChrisH36

Guy with Most Posts on Quiet Board.
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
15,042
Reaction score
4
Location
Temple Prime, Sarajevo
Variables need to be declared in order to work the point system. I enjoy Warcraft III Editor for its variable declarations.
 

Icey_Gregorio

Member!
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
129
Reaction score
0
Location
My home
Website
Visit site
Hellwolf_36 said:
Variables need to be declared in order to work the point system. I enjoy Warcraft III Editor for its variable declarations.
AAAGGGGGHHHH :angry I hate them so much. They screw me over all the time. Then again I barely kno how to use them so that's probarly the reason there :-/
 

ChrisH36

Guy with Most Posts on Quiet Board.
Joined
May 20, 2003
Messages
15,042
Reaction score
4
Location
Temple Prime, Sarajevo
Very simple, make one trigger called Variable Declaration

Action
Map Initialization
Conditions
None

Event
Set (variable_name) to (variable type)

Repeat event line until you have all the variables you need, think of it as C or Turing. Create your variables off hand before you create the program.

Example, if you need gold as a variable. First declare variable_name as an integer (whole numbers ONLY). Then set the value to something like Gold count or whatever.
 

SlayMaximus

Member!
Joined
Dec 29, 2003
Messages
64
Reaction score
0
Location
Virginia
Website
www.riplo.com
Not to be picky, but I think the "Event" should be Map Initialization and the "Actions" should be repeated to keep with the WE nomenclature, but the concept remains the same.

Variables are pretty basic stuff. Most current compiled languages, like C I believe, require you to declare your variables prior to using them. The last thing I programmed that didn't was BASIC on the Apple ][ (called Applesoft if I can remember back 20+ years) and 6502 assembler. Even in the assembler, we often informally "declared" the variables by assigning memory locations to specifc uses (character X position at $300 hex, Character Y position at $301H, Character shape number at $302 hex, etc.) and "setting" these defaults during the loading process. But, I date myself and bore you all born after 1985 . . .

In any event, if you are having trouble on variables, I strongly suggest you Google some tutorials and spend 30 minutes reading about them. After integers, floating points (reals), and strings, you can read about arrays. There's also longs, shorts, unsigneds, doubles, etc. Once you have a good understanding of these, the extensions to the WE specific types ("unit" or "unit group") should be easy. Not only will Your WC3 maps improve, but you'll gain knowledge that any future computer use (programming or just simple spreadsheeting) will require.

Just my $.02.

Eric.
 

NewPosts

New threads

Top