Messed up timer windows and non-working hero level up

Stardragon

Member!
Joined
Nov 9, 2003
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Location
Sweden
Website
www.beelzebub.se
I've made a kind of defense map, units spawns in waves etc.
But right now I've two problems and I will start with the most annoying one; the timer windows. For each level there is countdown timer and a window to display the time left to the next level. This works perfect, until level 5. At level 5 it is like the trigger creating the timer window is repeated ~40 times, so you end up with a lot of timer windows on the screen.

Here is the trigger that checks how many enemy units is left alive and this is the trigger that will run a trigger that starts the next level later.


And here is the trigger checking which is the next level and runs the correct spawntrigger.


Here is the trigger creating the timer windows for level 5, this one looks exactly like the triggers for the other levels (except the time varies).


And here is the action that should level the spawned heroes to level 10 but doesn't.



I've tried to solve to problems myself but I can't get it to work, especially the timer windows is driving me nuts ;/

*EDIT* I've fixed the bugg with the timer windows, but I still need help with the hero level ups *EDIT*

ALL HELP IS WELCOME!
 

Darimus

BattleForums Addict
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
681
Reaction score
0
Website
www.spaceman.vze.com
The first time you used Picked Unit is incorrect; change it to be Matching Unit.

Also, you can compress all your levels into 1 trigger, and it would save you alot of time. [for example, if you make 1 mistake, you make 1 correction, not 1 correction for each trigger]
 

IceDevil9

BattleForums Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,418
Reaction score
3
Location
CA
Website
www.rcthaven.com
Compress alllllll those level triggers into one or make an integer array for the level and a unit array for the enemies and player groups for the enemies and the good guys.

Also, be sure and read my stickies with the tutorials on them, it'll help you solve a lot of your problems.

Why is it that UnitsAlive has to equal one? Don't you want all enemy units to be dead before spawning a new level? If it's to check for the good guys being alive, create a Boolean Array to check for the different players ebing alive or dead.

-Frank :cool:
 

Stardragon

Member!
Joined
Nov 9, 2003
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Location
Sweden
Website
www.beelzebub.se
Regarding the issue with the timer windows I had entered an incorrect value. Later however I got the same problem again, and after lots of trial and error attempts it turned out giving abominations the disease cloud ability entirely ****ed up the alivecheck trigger, it kept on decreasing the variable unitsalive even though no units were dying. Wicked shit.

Darimus thanks for your tip about the levelup trigger, I will try it ASAP.
*EDIT* I did this instead, can't understand why I didn't do that from the beginning: Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units owned by Player 9 (Gray) of type Blademaster) and do (Hero - Set (Picked unit) Hero-level to 10, Hide level-up graphics)

IceDevil9, regarding the unitsalive trigger, for each level it is set to the number of spawned units. And it works great so far, it doesn't trigger the next level until the very last enemy units is dead.
 

Icedragon

BattleForums Addict
Joined
Aug 2, 2002
Messages
836
Reaction score
0
Location
The Swiming Pools
maybe try turning off the level 5 prep once it has run just a thought
non working hero level up? if you are trying to trigger lvl ups then i think star has it right but if it was just normal xp i dont have a clue
 

IceDevil9

BattleForums Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,418
Reaction score
3
Location
CA
Website
www.rcthaven.com
I don't know what the prep is for? You can do it all in one trigger, pelase read my stickies and my ultimate TD tutorial, it has all you need to know about spawning units (However, I wrote it ages ago, so it might be a bit out of date, but it should still apply).

-Frank :cool:
 

Stardragon

Member!
Joined
Nov 9, 2003
Messages
106
Reaction score
0
Location
Sweden
Website
www.beelzebub.se
I've read your tutorial IceDevil9, good one. I'll most likely merge the preperation triggers into one but apart from that I will stick with the current structure.

But if I make a new defense map of any kind I'll use some of the tips in your tutorial ;>
 

Icedragon

BattleForums Addict
Joined
Aug 2, 2002
Messages
836
Reaction score
0
Location
The Swiming Pools
The prep trigger just sets up the level to spawn and stuff like that pretty basic but it works
 

NewPosts

New threads

Top