Help with map (trigger and variable)

ST_NumerialS

Member!
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Location
uhh, jeese. thats a good quest
Website
www.network54.com
I need advanced help.

I'm trying to condense variables for organization and system efficency purposes. But I have come across a little problem. My goal is to create an infinity system where players can have an infinite number of cards. Because there are 150 different cards and 10 players, I have condensed this instead of making 1500 variables, i made 10 variable strings. Each string has 150 digits, each digit representing a card, and the number itself representing how many cards of that type there are. The problem is I'm limited to 9 cards as thats the highest single digit number there is. It is however a string, so I can increase my number by adding the letters of the alphabet, but thats still not infinity, not even 100 actually.

Thats not the only problem, lets say I just simply settle with 9 cards, and my players just have to deal with it. How do I put these card values into my leader board with the first card drawn put on top, and a next page action.

Too advanced for you? Reply asking for more details and I'll teach you what I know to help you out.

All help is appreciated, even if it doesn't help, your reply might help somehow and you don't know it. Thankyou

-ST_NumerialS
 

Draygonia

BattleForums Junior Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Messages
101
Reaction score
0
For this matter, I suggest looking for "Advanced War3 Trigger Help" for a google search, or post on the map making forums, that should help you and thank god you put it in professional matter, few people think that posts should be good. At least some people feel being professional is emportant, lol.
 

Icedragon

BattleForums Addict
Joined
Aug 2, 2002
Messages
836
Reaction score
0
Location
The Swiming Pools
Wow well is this like an Trading card kindda game i am guessing it sounds fairly intersting.
I havnt worked too much with varibles so i dont have much of a clue about what you said might i recoomend the stiked tutorial links at the top of this section they might shed a little more light on the subject or like Draygonia said Google it
 

IceDevil9

BattleForums Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,418
Reaction score
3
Location
CA
Website
www.rcthaven.com
You can't have 150 digits in a single variable string, it's just not possible, including every key on your keyboard wouldn't even do it.

So, think of something more efficient.

-Frank :cool:
 

ST_NumerialS

Member!
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Location
uhh, jeese. thats a good quest
Website
www.network54.com
Reply to my own help

IceDevil9 said:
You can't have 150 digits in a single variable string, it's just not possible, including every key on your keyboard wouldn't even do it.:
Actually you can, you can have up to 299 digits in a string. I counted. Perhaps the game won't understand and be able to read it... but it will let you enter in 299 characters.

Anyways, I need help on the forums, Google searching isn't helping at all, everybody on google is too dumb to help me.

Here's a reminder of the two things I need help on:

Getting an infinite number of tracking with any number of triggers, to track very large numbers in the millions.

Putting grabbed cards onto the leader board with first card grabbed on top and second card on second. and a page system where you can flip the page to see the next 12 cards you have in your hand.

Need more info to understand what on earth I'm talking about? Just ask and I'll try to give as descriptive of a response as possible

Thankyou all for your support of what will turn out to be a great help! I'll put you and your website in my credits, that goes for those who've already posted, your going in the credits if I have your permission.

Support is greatly appreciated

-ST_NumerialS
 

IceDevil9

BattleForums Senior Member
Joined
Feb 19, 2003
Messages
3,418
Reaction score
3
Location
CA
Website
www.rcthaven.com
Why would you need to use a number in the millions? That's a lot of units on a map. Even card wise, one million is way too many, just crweate somwhere between 100 - 150 and you'll be set, maybe somewhere around 300 if you so desire.

-Frank :cool:
 

ST_NumerialS

Member!
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Location
uhh, jeese. thats a good quest
Website
www.network54.com
Desperate

Ok, now I'm sooo desperate i'll take anything you can give me thats larger than 9! Just please! My players will die with only 9 mountain mana cards! C'mon, how do you summon the big bad asses like that death queen? I need a way to fit more than 9 numbers into a string variable that is looking at each digit as a representative.
 

ST_NumerialS

Member!
Joined
Aug 13, 2003
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Location
uhh, jeese. thats a good quest
Website
www.network54.com
Sigh

*Sigh* Thankyou for attempting to help me everyone. I'll figure it out on my own.

So that you all understand exactly what Im doing, since many are confused, and I can tell by the primitive level of advice being given, I'll explain it all here.

Initialization *Trigger*
For each integerA from 1 to 10

Set Card*stringarray*(IntegerA) = 000000000000000000000000000000000000000000​
Set Slot*stringarray*(IntegerA) = 000000000000000000000000000000000000000000​

Each Round *Trigger*
Set Integer*integer* = Random number between 1 and 14
If Integer*integer* = 1 then Set NameOfCard(string) = Mountain
If Integer*integer* = 2 then Set NameOfCard(string) = Forest
If Integer*integer* = 3 then Set NameOfCard(string) = Island
...

For each integerA from 1 to 10 // this is for each player, there's 10 players altogether

If substring [ Card*stringarray* (integerA) (( Integer*integer* x 3) -2 , Integer*integer* x 3) Less than 9​
Set Card*stringarray* = (substring(Card*stringarray*(IntegerA)...​

...

The rest is a bunch of stuff to pretty much basically just make it so that every 3 characters in the string Card and Slot it is setting the number to a +1 for example, if Integer (my random number that sets what card your selecting) is 1, then Card would be set to everything from 1,0 meaning nothing. Plus adding 1 to the number, and for this instance the beginning of the game, it will become 001000000000000000000000000000000000000000 Which represents you now have 1 of the first card, and 0 of all the rest of the cards, and set slot to 001000000000000000000000000000000000000000
to show that in slot 1, the first 3 numbers, is card number 1, the actuall value of it.

Follow me so far?

This is to produce your ability to randomly pick up cards, keep them all in 1 simple variable without that cloggy multiple variable arrays that tremendously slows down your game, and allow for a nice clean organized game

I HATE Variables. They slow down your game EXTREMELY per each one you have. So I will go out of my way to make 1,000 triggers just to keep from making 1 more variable. Every variable I have to add to my map, I dread. Now if I could just get rid of those pesky game memory hoggers called "Check every 0.50 seconds" triggers.

When I make a map, I start out slowly and work slowly so that I can make sure it has every available possible thing that will improve the speed and efficency of the process handeling.

Thankyou all for listening, and while I still don't have my triggers, I'm working hard on it and I think I can figure it out on my own.

*note* If you want your game to run smoothly, NEVER EVER use an array of 8192. ;) (no offense, your advice was still appreciated)
 

x42bn6

Retired Staff
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
15,150
Reaction score
2
Location
London, United Kingdom
An idea I could give is to prefix each number with leading zeroes so that you have groups of 3 digits. So 1 would be 001, 10 would be 010 and 100 100. The string would be something like 001002003004... etc. This becomes a 450 character string and for 10 players this becomes 4500 characters, which should be stable enough even on large games. The problem is, though, parsing characters, though it is slightly easier because you only have to group stuff into groups of 3.*
 

Icedragon

BattleForums Addict
Joined
Aug 2, 2002
Messages
836
Reaction score
0
Location
The Swiming Pools
ST_NumerialS said:
When I make a map, I start out slowly and work slowly so that I can make sure it has every available possible thing that will improve the speed and efficency of the process handeling.
If you were going for speed and efficency wouldnt you try something easyer first ... i mean your trying to recreate Magic for crist sakes maybe you should try a system were Wood is mana and say if Randomint = 10 or something add one lumber... not trying to bash you man but trying something more simple to get it working for you insted of variables(cause its kindda appernt you dont know how to use them that well). Like i said use Lumber and gold for mana then you could have double decks and stuff like that... just a suggestion though... For summons and stuff just make them items and give them to a building with an invo or something... saves you some pain i guess to be simple cause your making it way to hard on yourself by storing everything in strings and stuff... Just write triggers with actions like this and you only need one varible per player. (make Hand a shop then... Guess what your buy the items with the lumber(mana) and can cast them ow how smart)

Event
What ever you want
Conditons
Actions
Set CardRed = (Random integer number between 1 and 60)(60 cards in a deck well mine does anyway)
For each (Integer CardRed) from 1 to 5, do (Player - Add 1 to Player 1 (Red) Current lumber)
For each (Integer CardRed) from 6 to 10, do (Neutral Building - Add Raging Goblin to Cards in Hand 0000 <gen> with 1 in stock and a max stock of 1)


only downside is you will have to make triggers to make certain itms non playable at certain times... another downside that i just thought of this would make it sorrta play like Battlegrounds but hey it would work
 

NewPosts

New threads

Top